NITI Aayog

NITI Aayog

The policy think tank of the Government of India is referred to as NITI Aayog (Policy Commission). It was set-up with the vision of achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Established in 2015, the NITI Aayog replaced the Planning Commission.

The NITI Aayog serves the role of the country's main policy-making institution. Additionally, its role involves furthering the economic growth of India. They develop plans to achieve national-level developmental goals in active partnership with Indian states. The Prime Minister is the head and Chairman of Niti Aayog and is responsible for further recruiting a Vice-Chairman. 

The NITI Aayog comprises of two working hubs:

  1. Team India Hub: Focussed on ensuring participation of Indian states along with the central government.
  2. The Knowledge and Innovation Hub: Focussed on building the institution’s think tank capabilities

It recognized the following 7 pillars of effective governance and created its model based on them:

  1. Pro-people: It fulfills the aspirations of society and individuals
  2. Pro-activity: It works in anticipation of and response to citizen needs
  3. Participation: It ensures the involvement of the citizenry
  4. Empowering: It focuses on empowering people, especially women in all aspects
  5. Inclusion: It aims for the inclusion of all people irrespective of caste, creed, and gender
  6. Equality: Its goal is to provide equal opportunity to all, especially the youth
  7. Transparency: It works on making the government visible and responsive