Union Government

The Union Government of India mainly comprises of the Executive, the Legislature, and the Judiciary.  Under the Union Government, all powers are vested by the Constitution of India in the Prime Minister, Parliament and the Supreme Court. The President of India is the Head of the state while the elected Prime Minister acts as the head of the executive, and is responsible for running the Union government.

The parliament is bicameral in nature, with the Lok Sabha being the lower house, and the Rajya Sabha the upper house.

The judiciary comprises of an apex Supreme Court, 24 High Courts, and several District Courts. The basic civil and criminal laws governing the citizens of India are set down in major parliamentary legislation, such as the civil procedure code, the penal code, and the criminal procedure code.